Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center
2022 SPIRIT Award Winners

2022 SPIRIT Award Winners

In my last column, I made reference to the winners of the SPIRIT Awards.  We had a great celebration honoring this deserving group on June 17th in the Academic Event Center. The event even made STATLINE TV, which is the equivalent of having your picture on the cover of Rolling Stone magazine. Bryce Looney and Justin White were there to emcee the event and to entertain us.

As you probably know, the awards are given to staff members that exemplify the values of Texas Tech Physicians. Winners are determined by a committee that selected these individuals from peer nominations.

Those honored at the SPIRIT Awards include:

One Team: Kassie Pelham, Executive Associate, Office of the CEO
Kind Hearted: Braden Cook, Managing Director, Center for Cardiovascular Health
Integrity: Alicia Hernandez, Senior LVN, Family Medicine
Visionary: Sam Crain, Senior Clinical Administrator, Ophthalmology
Beyond Service: Carol Salas, Coordinator, Family Medicine
Overall Spirit: Moneeta Silva, Senior LVN, Internal Medicine

The winners receive a check for $100, a TTUHSC jacket, and their pictures are placed in the “Hall of Fame” in the entrance to the Medical Pavilion.

Please drop a note to these winners and congratulate them, and be thinking of deserving individuals for next year’s event. It is never too early! Any staff member of Texas Tech Physicians of Lubbock is eligible to be nominated. We love giving honor to those to whom honor is due.


  • Kassie Pelham
  • Braden Cook
  • Alicia Hernandez
  • Sam Crain
  • Carol Salas
  • Moneeta Silva