Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center
TTUHSC Vision Highlighted at State of the University & Faculty Award Convocation

TTUHSC Vision Highlighted at State of the University & Faculty Award Convocation

graphic of the TTUHSC Vision Statement "transform health care through innovation and collaboration"

On Nov. 4, Lori Rice-Spearman, Ph.D., president of Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center (TTUHSC) spoke at the State of the University & Faculty Award Convocation. During this virtual presentation, Rice-Spearman emphasized the hard work so many put into developing a new five-year strategic plan, which includes 10 goals, two per university council at TTUHSC. These goals strive to better the university through the lens of TTUHSC’s vision—to transform health care through innovation and collaboration.

“In addition to these council-driven goals,” said Rice-Spearman, “our strategic plan identifies a university-wide goal to establish a comprehensive telehealth institute that will advance our efforts in telemedicine through education, collaborative research and the growth of comprehensive telehealth practices.”

Rice-Spearman highlighted the importance of telehealth within our community during the pandemic and into the future.

Additionally, President Rice-Spearman pointed out the significance of the TTUHSC community living out the “One Team” value during the COVID-19 pandemic and its accompanying challenges.

“I am proud to represent and serve an institution that values the contributions of all of our members,” said Rice-Spearman, who encouraged individuals across TTUHSC campuses to share any input with members of the president’s advisory board, cabinet and councils as the university works toward accomplishing goals as a team.

After congratulating the awardees on behalf of the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center, President Rice-Spearman recognized the students who worked alongside the faculty and staff in many of their achievements. In closing, Rice-Spearman spoke of her hope moving forward.

“We have a big, bold idea to transform health care,” Rice-Spearman said, “and I have no doubt that we have the faculty and the staff across the enterprise of our university to accomplish that.”

Award recipients are listed below.

University Distinguished Faculty Award

  • Teresa E. Baker, MD
  • Theresa Byrd, RN, MPH, DrPH
  • Kerry K. Gilbert, PT, ScD
  • Cynthia Jumper, MD, MPH, MACP
  • Laura Opton, DHSc, RN, CNE
  • Dawndra Sechrist, OTR, PhD
  • Amanda Veesart, PhD, CNE, RN
  • Jeff Watson, DNP, RN, NEA-BC, CNE

President’s Award for Interprofessional Teamwork

  • Betsy Goebel Jones, EdD
  • Lara Johnson, MD, MHS
  • Charles Seifert, PharmD, FCCP, BCPS
  • Rebecca Sleeper, PharmD, FCCP, FASCP, BCPS

President's Early Career Investigator Award

  • Yangzom D. Bhutia, DVM, PhD

President’s Excellence in Teaching Award

  • Gurvinder Kaur, PhD

President’s Excellence in Research Award

  • P. Hemachandra Reddy, PhD

President’s Outstanding Clinician Award

  • Patti Patterson Joiner, MD, MPH

President’s Excellence in Community Engagement Award

  • Ronald L. Cook, DO, MBA 17

President's Team Teaching Award

  • Trista Bailey, PharmD, BCPS, BCGP, FASCP
  • Amie Blaszczyk, PharmD, BCGP, BCPS, FASCP
  • Kalin Clifford, PharmD, BCPS, BCGP, FASCP
  • Becky Mahan, PharmD, BCGP, BCACP