Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center
TTUHSC Recognizes Distinguished Alumni

TTUHSC Recognizes Distinguished Alumni

Distinguished Alumni awards lined up on a table

Each year, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center (TTUHSC) recognizes the remarkable accomplishments of distinguished alumni, honoring individuals for their exceptional contributions to the health care profession and to society. On October 8, the 2020-2021 Distinguished Alumni award recipients gathered together for a celebration dinner held at the Academic Event Center in Lubbock.

Since its creation in 2015, the Distinguished Alumni Awards have commended those whose efforts within their fields have created a positive impact on community or humanity, offering recognition for each school under several different categories. Recipients are acknowledged for their significant successes in research, leadership, community outreach and clinical care. This year's celebration dinner focused on observing and appreciating some of the awe-inspiring alumni at TTUHSC, presenting each winner with a plaque for their accomplishments.

Cyndy B. Dunlap, DNP, RN and President Lori Rice-Spearman

Cyndy B. Dunlap, DNP, R.N., and President Lori Rice-Spearman, Ph.D. 

The Presidential Distinguished Alumni award is the most monumental of these awards, and is considered the highest honor that can be bestowed upon alumni by the university. This year, the prestigious award was given to Cyndy B. Dunlap, DNP, RN, the vice president and chief nursing officer for Providence Healthcare Network. 

Two decades of service in health care clearly show Dunlap’s dedication to patient service. Some of her outstanding accomplishments include improving quality and patient safety endeavors and legislative advocacy for hospitals through the Texas Hospital Association, establishing the first HIV/AIDS program for a region of Texas, and her work as president of the Texas Organization of Nurse Leaders as well as on committees of the American Organization of Nurse Leaders.

In order to select winners for this annual event, alumni, faculty, staff, and friends are encouraged to nominate deserving individuals for their worthy endeavors. These awards serve not only as an appreciation of those who have brought distinction to TTUHSC, but also as inspiration for colleagues and future alumni. 

Distinguished Alumni award winners are listed below. More information on the recipients and their awards can be found on the TTUHSC distinguished alumni webpage

2020-2021 Presidential Distinguished Alumni Award

  • Cyndy B. Dunlap, DNP, RN, NEA-BC, FACHE

Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences

  • Jane A. Colmer-Hamood, Ph.D.

School of Health Professions

  • Logan M. Price, Au.D., F-AAA, CCC-A
  • John Lowe, MBA, MPT, MAT, LAT, ATC, FACHE
  • Larry Howard, PA-C, MPAS, LP
  • Bjorn Anthony Sorensen, MSHA

School of Medicine

  • Juan F. Fitz, M.D., FACEP (dedication, awarded posthumously)
  • Fahmi Farah, M.D.
  • Peter A. Grant, M.D.

School of Nursing

  • Cyndy B. Dunlap, DNP, RN, NEA-BC, FACHE
  • Silvia Garbalena-Esparza, MSN, CNM, RNC-NIC
  • Mostafa N. Abu-Hijlih, BSN, RN

School of Pharmacy

  • Amber L. Elliott, Pharm.D.
  • Jessica R. Crow, Pharm.D., BCCCP, BCPS-AQ, Cardiology, CNSC, FCCM

Find more photos from the celebration dinner here.