Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center
Faculty Honored at State of the University & Faculty Award Convocation

Faculty Honored at State of the University & Faculty Award Convocation

Lori Rice-Spearman

Lori Rice-Spearman virtually presented the State of the University & Faculty Awards Convocation.

During a virtual presentation of the State of the University & Faculty Award Convocation, Lori Rice-Spearman, Ph.D., president of Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center (TTUHSC), reflected on an unprecedented year in TTUHSC's history.

Rice-Spearman highlighted examples of innovation and collaboration across the TTUHSC enterprise to serve each of its campus communities in response to the COVID-19 pandemic. Examples included adjusting coursework to allow students to continue learning, providing and manufacturing needed clinical supplies, pivoting traditionally in-person events to virtual formats and adapting to telemedicine technologies to minimize disruptions to patient care.

After Rice-Spearman closed her message, faculty members and teams were recognized for excellence in teaching, research, teamwork and more. Award recipients are listed below.


President's Award for Interprofessional Teamwork

Todd Bell, M.D.

Eric J. MacLaughlin, Pharm.D., FASHP, FCCP, BCPS

Jill Frost, Pharm.D.

Maegan M. Whitworth, Pharm.D., BCPS, BCCCP

Evelyn Sbar, M.D., FAAFP, AQH

Mikala Conatser, Pharm.D.

Ulrich Bickel, M.D.


President's Early Career Investigator Award

Devin B. Lowe, Ph.D.


President’s Excellence in Teaching Award

Anna Kochanowska-Karamyan, Ph.D., MPharm


President’s Excellence in Research Award

C. Patrick Reynolds, M.D., Ph.D.


President’s Outstanding Clinician Award

Ronald L. Cook, D.O., MBA, FAAFP


President’s Excellence in Community Engagement Award

Lisa A. Campbell, DNP, RN, PHNA-BC, FAAN


President's Team Teaching Award

Brandt Schneider, Ph.D.

Keith N. Bishop, Ph.D.

Gurvinder Kaur, Ph.D., M.S.

Beverly S. Chilton, Ph.D.

Greg Brower, D.V.M., Ph.D.

Bernell K. Dalley, Ph.D.

Jannette Dufour, Ph.D.

Toni Denison, M.S.

Anthony Hewetson, M.S.

Chip Shaw, Ed.D.

Simon Williams, Ph.D.


University Distinguished Faculty Award

Victor J Test, M.D., FCCP

Yondell Masten, Ph.D., WHNP-BC, RNC-OB


Chancellor’s Council Distinguished Teaching Award

Susan Calloway, Ph.D.


Chancellor’s Council Distinguished Teaching Award 

Tammy Carter, Ph.D.


Chancellor’s Council Distinguished Research Award 

Volker Neugebauer, Ph.D., M.D.