Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center
Congratulations to the TTP Recipients at the Dean’s Awards Ceremony

Congratulations to the TTP Recipients at the Dean’s Awards Ceremony

Unsung Hero Awards

These awards are nominated by the chair of the department.  Recipients are considered 'go to' persons who can always be relied on.
Craig Bradley, M.D. Department of Family and Community Medicine
Fred Hardwicke, M.D. Department of Internal Medicine
Anthony Hewetson, M.S. Department of Medical Education
Chuang-Kuo Wu, M.D., Ph.D. Department of Neurology
Dana Phillips, M.D. Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology
Jerry Grimes, M.D. Department of Orthopaedic Surgery and Rehabilitation
Mitchell Wachtel, M.D. Department of Pathology
Gary Brown, D.O. Department of Pediatrics
Marina Chavez, M.D. Department of Psychiatry
Dixon Santana, M.D. Department of Surgery
Dean’s Teaching Awards

Recipients have several years of sustained excellence in teaching as demonstrated in student and peer evaluations, evidence of strong commitment to the educational process, innovation and/or originality in teaching.  The recipients are:

Dean’s Basic Science Teaching Award – MS II – Gilbert Berdine, M.D., Department of Internal Medicine, and Brian Pomeroy, M.D., Department of Pediatrics

Dean’s Douglas M. Stocco Scholarship/ResearchAward – Michael Conn, Ph.D., Department of Internal Medicine

This award recognizes a faculty member for his or her accomplishments in research/scholarship demonstrated by original, high-impact publications,external funding, national/international peer recognition, and research awards.

Outstanding Achievement in Teaching – Department of Pediatrics

This award is based upon medical student feedback received by the dean during the past year.

Outstanding Achievement in Patient Satisfaction – Department of Dermatology and the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology.

This award is based upon Press-Ganey patient satisfaction ratings received by the department during the past year.

Basic Science Teaching Award Yr 1 - HamoodBasic Science Teaching Award Yr 2 - BerdineBasic Science Teaching Award Yr 2 - PomeroyClinical Teaching Award - TarboxDepartmental Award - DermDepartmental Award - ImmunologyDepartmental Award - PediatricsDepartmental Award OB GynDistinguished Faculty Award - WhellyEducational Innovation Award - JonesEducational Innovation Award - PressleyScholarship Research Award - ConnUMC Physician Champion Quality Leader - BrooksUnsung Hero - BrownUnsung Hero - GrimesUnsung Hero - GuanUnsung Hero - HardwickeUnsung Hero - PhillipsUnsung Hero - SantanaUnsung Hero - WachtelUnsung Hero - WhellyUnsung Hero - Wu