Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center
Faculty Receive Professor Emeritus Appointments

Faculty Receive Professor Emeritus Appointments

The Texas Tech University System Board of Regents approved the title of professor emeritus for six TTUHSC faculty members for their long and faithful service to the School of Medicine.

Steven L. Berk, M.D., TTUHSC executive vice president, provost and dean of the School of Medicine, said these faculty members have helped shape the institution into what it is today.

“Each of these School of Medicine faculty have contributed to the strong foundation upon which this School of Medicine is built,” Berk said. “We congratulate them for their commitment and service to our school.”

Katherine B. Chauncey, Ph.D., joined the Department of Family and Community Medicine in 1992 as an assistant professor. She has been the primary educator in nutrition, eating disorders, diabetes and obesity assessment and intervention for the School of Medicine students and the Family Medicine Residency Program for decades, in addition to conducting private clinics. She retired Sept. 30, 2013.

Paul E. Douthit, Ph.D., joined the Department of Pediatrics as an associate professor of Clinical Pediatrics-Division of Developmental Pediatrics providing outpatient psychotherapy for children, teenagers, parents and families referred by physicians. His clinical focus was psychosocial developmental, emotional and behavioral issues of children and teenagers. He retired on Feb. 28.

J. Barry Lombardini, Ph.D., began his academic career at The Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine before joining TTUHSC School of Medicine in 1973 in the Department of Pharmacology and Therapeutics. He has received numerous awards and has been recognized for his teaching and service over the years. In 2009, he received the President’s Basic Science Teaching Award and in 2013, he was given the Dean’s Outstanding Faculty Service Award and Outstanding Teacher of the Year Award. He retired May 1.

Reid Norman, Ph.D., was an assistant professor in anatomy at the Oregon Health Sciences University before joining the TTUHSC School of Medicine in 1983. He was appointed the chair of the Department of Pharmacology and Neuroscience in 2002. He has made numerous contributions to the university in teaching research and as an administrator. His research focus has been on reproductive endocrinology and biology, neuroendocrine mechanisms and fertility.  He will retire June 30.

Barbara C. Pence, Ph.D., joined the Department of Pathology as an assistant professor in 1987. She has primarily taught genetics of neoplasia and the genetics of obesity and served on two NIH curriculum development awards. Over her career, she has generated approximately $10 million in research and outreach grants. She will retire May 31.

Douglas M. Stocco, Ph.D., originally from the University of Toronto, Canada, joined TTUHSC School of Medicine in 1974 following a postdoctoral fellowship at the University of California at Los Angeles. His accomplishments span many decades, including numerous research awards from the TTUHSC School of Medicine dean, president and the Texas Tech University System chancellor. He is best recognized for his research discovery of Steroidogenic Acute Regulatory (StAR) Protein, which brought him worldwide acclaim. Stocco was presented the Grover E. Murray Distinguished Professorship in 1997. The TTUHSC School of Medicine honored him by renaming the Dean’s Faculty Excellence in Research Award, the Douglas M. Stocco Scholarship/Research Award. He will retire Sept. 1.